BookTube-A-Thon TBR [2016]

Is it that time of year again? One of my (Sasha’s) favourite readathons? That’s right, it’s BookTube-A-Thon 2016 time! There are tons of new *shiny* challenges, and what’s better to get that Goodreads challenge finished than a fun, week-long readathon?

The BookTube-A-Thon was created by Ariel Bisset on YouTube. This year, the readathon is taking place from July 18 – July 24. A whole week of fun bookish shenanigans ensue!

Here’s my TBR, based on the challenges for this year’s readathon. There’s 1 challenge I haven’t technically fulfilled, but otherwise, I’ve covered the bases.

For the “read a book older than you” challenge, I’m reading BRAVE NEW WORLD by Aldous Huxley. I’ve started this one twice and strangely haven’t finished it, even though it’s very enjoyable and has a unique concept (cloning). It was published in the 30’s, so suffice to say, it is most definitely older than me!

5129

For the challenge “read a book only after sunset,” I chose a short novel–one of R.L. Stine’s GOOSEBUMPS: MOST WANTED novels. It’s titled “TRICK OR TRAP” and I can definitely read this in one sitting. 🙂 I can also cover the challenge “read a book-to-movie adaptation” by reading and watching Goosebumps!

24000714

I also have another one on my list–tentatively–for the book-to-movie adaptation challenge. ALLEGIANT by Veronica Roth. This is one that I’ve been very iffy on for a while–I’m not quite sure if I’ll read it, but I might? So, if I do end up picking it out of the pile (I think it’ll be a quick read?) I might check out the movie as well to cover the challenge. And in case you’re wondering, YES, I do know the ending of this book.

17383918

I decided to throw in a few short novels to make my reading go easier, so I want to read the first 3 books in the SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS by Lemony Snicket. Surprisingly, I’ve never read these! I have watched the movie, though. The Netflix show is premiering later this year I believe, so now’s the best time to get into them. 78411

For the challenge read a book by one of your favourite authors, I decided to pick up my latest book purchase, SHINY BROKEN PIECES. I can’t wait to dive back into the cutthroat ballerina world.

 26198216

And just to throw something in the mix, I decided to check out HOLLOW CITY by Ransom Riggs. The movie for book 1 is coming out in September, so I figured now would be the perfect time to dive back into this series! I’m *kind of* covering the challenge “read a book you discovered through booktube,” because a) I technically didn’t discover this book through booktube, but b) I hear a lot about it on certain people’s channels. So why not get into it, right?

23164983

That brings me to total of 8 books, covering the challenge to “read 7 books.” Will I complete all the challenges and read all the books on my TBR? Who knows! All I know is that it’s time to get some hardcore reading done this coming week!

Are you participating in the BookTube-A-Thon? Let us know in the comments below! Until next time,

-S&S

2 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon TBR [2016]

Leave a Reply

