[Review] A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas

Ever read the first book in a series by an author you love, and think it’s pretty good, but not as amazing as her other books? Then you read the sequel to that book, and you become mind blown? That is exactly what happened to me with A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas. Today I (Sasha) will be reviewing (perhaps in fangirlish all caps) the awesomeness that went down in this book in a non-spoiler fashion. Let’s get to it! I’ll paste the spoiler synopsis below, so skip over that if you want to get into the review!


17927395Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


I want to tell you all the reasons why this book is mind-blowingly awesome, so why not have a review in lists? Because lists are always awesome.

Let’s begin with the characters.

  1. RHYSAND. Remember that one time I reviewed ACOTAR last September (review here)? Remember how I said I loathed him the first time he appeared on the page, and didn’t understand his character until the end? Well, I am punching myself in the face/laughing at myself for ever thinking that I hated him. Because seriously, this guy is layered. I mean, if you need Character Development 101, this is YOUR GUY. And, of course, Backstory 101 is always a plus. (And his backstory was A++)
  2. FEYRE. I really liked Feyre’s growth in this book. She grew tons. And I don’t mean physically, I mean mentally. Let’s just say this book has a lot to do with mental health and healing, and I loved how Maas portrayed Feyre’s mental health and issues and how she was able to grow after the hardships she’s been through.
  3. CASSIAN AND AMREN AND MOR AND AZRIEL: aka my faves (besides Rhys, obvs). Can I have these friends in real life? Please, please, pretty please? And Mor’s humour? Yes, I need a Mor in my life. And I need certain ships to happen, Maas. MAKE THEM HAPPEN.
  4. ELAIN AND NESTA. I can’t say much about them, but I loved their incorporation in this book and growth in character! AND THE ENDING. *grumbles spoilers to self*

I feel like commenting on other characters will make this review a little too spoiler-y, so I’m leaving out a few that I would usually comment on. *refrains from spilling all the spoilers*

Now let’s talk about all the other amazing things this book had to offer!

  1. PLOTBook 1 definitely had plot, but it was a biiit on the slow side in the beginning. Though I was fine with the pacing in book 1, I prefer the set-up and execution in this book. Just because, well, SPOILERS.
  2. THE WRITING. In a recent post I made on 1st vs. 3rd-person POV, I mentioned how I prefer TOG’s 3rd POV to ACOTAR’s 1st. I still stand by that, but boy did I feel like the writing soared in this novel. Maas used lots of awesome techniques, and I appreciated every single one. It really captured me and I especially enjoyed places where the writing seemed to sing or become a bit more metaphorical.
  3. THE COURTS. Can I just say that I loved how much of this world we were able to explore? Book 1 was mostly focused on the Spring Court, but I fell in love–and I knew I would–with the Night Court. I need me a real Rhysand and Night Court Inner Circle, please. I’m also hoping we explore more with Hybern and maybe even some of the other courts in book 3.

I will say that this book is readable by teens (like me, though I’m on the older side at 19), but there are many steamy scenes–the steamiest I’ve read–and I think this book should be considered more NA than YA in that respect. Outside of that, it’s definitely open for YA readers, especially those who love THRONE OF GLASS like me!

Overall, A COURT OF MIST AND FURY blew my mind. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t 100% anticipating it like EMPIRE OF STORMS, but once I started to hear of the hype and how much people loved it more than ACOTAR, I had to give it a read. One of the best decisions I’ve made.

This book deserves a full 5/5 stars. My favourite fantasy of 2016!

Let me know how much you enjoyed A COURT OF MIST AND FURY. Is Rhysand your book BF? Until next time, readers!

-S&S

 

One thought on “[Review] A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

