Fave Books of 2016 So Far!

Hey, all! I (Sasha) posted a poll on Twitter asking you guys what we should post on our blog next, and most people voted for Fave Books of 2016! This post was also partially influenced by a post Ava @ Bookishness and Tea wrote, all about her favourite 2016 reads! So, without further ado, here are our favourite reads of 2016 so far!

  1. WOLF BY WOLF by Ryan Graudin. Sarena and I both read this book, and it’s such an amazing reimagining of WWII–if the Axis powers won. This book has some of the most amazing writing we’ve ever encountered in YA. Graudin has beautiful prose, and still manages to keep this a fast-paced read. We reviewed this book on our blog, and you can read it here24807186
  2. SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys. I’m actually in the middle of this one (and it’s quite good!) but Sarena already read it in February and looooved it. She’s a huge fan of Sepetys’ work and historical fiction in general. A must-read for historical fic fans!25614492
  3. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh. This is a powerhouse debut rich with lush writing and characters you will fall head-over-heels (*cough* Khalid *cough*) for. 18798983
  4. LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassandra Clare. I read this one shortly after CoHF, and guys–I thought it was better than City of Heavenly Fire. It was action-packed, mysterious, and had so many swoony OTPs. Such a great read! It felt very fresh, even though it was a world I’d visited many times before. Look out for a review very soon!25494343
  5. RUIN AND RISING by Leigh Bardugo. I read this one last year (and loved it), but Sarena didn’t read it until this year, and boy did she love it! It was such an amazing finale full of twists and turns. And that cover! *heart eyes* 14061957
  6. BEYOND THE RED by Ava Jae. This is  a fantastic debut novel that Sarena had the pleasure of reading back in January. (Thanks, Edelweiss, for the eARC!). If you love  anything sci-fi, BEYOND THE RED definitely fills that Star Wars hangover we’re all having until Rogue One releases 😉 25898435

And that’s it! Tell us–what are your favourite reads of 2016 so far? Until next time,

S&S

19 thoughts on “Fave Books of 2016 So Far!

  1. rattlethestarssite says:

    Yessssss! The Wrath and the Dawn was AMAZING! I have Wolf By Wolf on my TBR. I really need to get to it soon. My top choice so far this year is Rebel of the Sands. Love that book so much!

    • The Writing Duo says:

      Wolf by Wolf is great! We hope you enjoy it! And Rebel of the Sands is really good!! So unique. We were lucky to have met the author–we’ll probably put up a review soon 🙂

  2. Melanie @BooksAreMyChildren says:

    I loved Wolf by Wolf, The Wrath and the Dawn, and Ruin and Rising. They’re such great books!!! I requested Salt to the Sea and Lady Midnight from my library. Lady Midnight will actually be my first book by Clare, I hope I like it!!!

  3. Rachel @A Perfection Called Books says:

    The Wrath and The Dawn is SUCH an amazing debut, eeep I can’t wait for THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER. I keep hearing such high praise for Salt to the Sea and Wolf by Wolf, so I should probably check them out. I am SO picky about historical fiction though… Lady Midnight is another one I have yet haven’t read yet. What’s wrong with me? Why haven’t I read it yet? Cassie Clare is my absolute favorite…

    I think The Forbidden Wish, The Star-Touched Queen, Outrun the Moon, and The Glittering Court would be on my top list for the year so far. 🙂

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    • The Writing Duo says:

      WRATH really blew us both away! Sarena listened to the audiobook, which was pretty cool, since it’s easier to understand the pronunciation of a lot of names/places. And Salt to the Sea was INCREDIBLE. Definitely our faves of 2016 so far. We’re now reading The Crown’s Game and The Unexpected Everything; can’t wait for Star-Touched to arrive in the mail!! Thanks for commenting, Rachel! ❤

  4. vivalabooklife says:

    I loved ruin and rising as well! Such a fantastic finale to the trilogy! I really want to read lady midnight and TWATD. I need to finish CoHF before I start lady midnight, but hopefully that’ll be soon! These all look like such good books though!

  5. Jess I. says:

    And… I have read none of these, oops! However, several of them are on my TBR like Salt to the Sea, Wolf by Wolf, and TWATD. I just finished reading The Star-Touched Queen and I’m currently reading Rebel of the Sands, so I’m in that Arabian/Indian mood. Hopefully this will motivate me to FINALLY read TWATD, especially since the sequel comes out tomorrow (or one hour for people on the East Coast)!

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

  6. anhdara13 says:

    I’ve actually only just read my third book for the year, so to see that you’ve already got ‘fave books of the year’ so far??? is amazing and i’m in awe. I do want to read TWATD, it seems good!

Leave a Reply

