On Reading Multiple Books at Once

Hey everyone! If you’ve been following me (Sarena) lately on Twitter you know I’ve been in a bit of a weird reading state. I’ve had to pick up many books and read them at once, and this is mostly because of school books (sigh–but sometimes they’re cool) and review books sitting on our pile.

This will mostly be a discussion post because we have a few thoughts on reading multiple books at once. When I was young, I’d often pick up a few books–three or more–and read them all at the same time. I always ran into the same issue, since I felt as if I couldn’t stick in “one world” at a time. I also felt like I wasn’t getting one book’s full experience by putting others in the mix.

I think there are, however, good moments in which to read multiple books at once. I find that I always need my *one* for-fun read while I have another school read. Last week I was in a bit of a weird slump since I’d just finished my review read, REIGN OF SHADOWS, and started my school read, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I found myself readingย Aliceย pretty slowly despite the fact that it’s a TINY book. (I’m reading it for a children’s lit class–yay!). I also find that reading e-books is convenient and inconvenient in this case. If I’m reading an eARC or e-book, I often have a physical book on me because my tablet is weird-cray and often shuts off and needs to charge for long periods of time. (And I don’t like reading on my phone too much.)

Plus, there’s just something great about having a physical book with me. Last week I started ILLUMINAE and got 50 pages in. Loved it. But unfortunately, I’ve been reading so many different things I couldn’t devote my time to it. Likewise, I started SNOW LIKE ASHES last week and finally am continuing it now. It’s GREAT! And I love keeping myself in one world at a time.

I also feel like I was on a really great book high at the start of January–I read about 5 books in two weeks–and so now I’m in a bit of a weird reading mood. Hopefully that’ll change soon since i’m loving my current read.

What are your thoughts?

Following GIF is here because Belle is awesome:

Until next time,

S&S

 

 

12 thoughts on “On Reading Multiple Books at Once

  1. Shikha @ Fiction and Tea says:

    I completely agree with what you said. Personally even I don’t prefer to read multiple books at a time as I can’t focus on a single world, and sometimes it also gets confusing haha. The most I’ve read at once is a physical book and an e-book ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post!

  2. Wat da Book says:

    It really depends on the book… If I’m really enjoying what I’m reading, I probably won’t be able to put it down until I’m done with it. But sometimes things get draggy, and at that point I’d rather switch to something else for a little bit than stop reading altogether until I’m back in the mood.

    • The Writing Duo says:

      I totally get that! i feel like i have a problem with DNFing books, too, so that adds to more books on my “currently reading” pile even if I really want to continue them. Thanks for commenting!

  3. NicoleLynn says:

    I’ve been reading multiple books at a time mainly because I read some for class and some for enjoyment. I totally agree about having the physical book with you! I have an eReader but lately it’s been hard for me to get into ebooks whereas I’ve been on a physical book reading high.

    On another point, I just finished Illuminae and really enjoyed it!! I hope you can get back to it soon ๐Ÿ˜Š Snow Like Ashes is on my TBR for this year so I’m hoping to get to it soon! Glad you’re liking it ๐Ÿ˜„

    • The Writing Duo says:

      Yes, we always need a book for enjoyment alongside our required reading! And I always love reading physical books. nothing beats the feeling ๐Ÿ˜€ Sasha read and really enjoyed ILLUMINAE so i’m hoping to finish that soon! I hope you enjoy SLA – thanks for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Elizabeth @ My Bookish Ramblings says:

    That’s the exact same problem I’ve been having! Most of my reading time is devoted to school books but I so desperately want to be reading for fun too! I bet I’ve picked up and but down 6 books in January- and it wasn’t because they were bad- they just weren’t working for me! I finally finished a book last night so hopefully that’ll help me get going!

Leave a Reply

