On the Cover Change

Hey, y’all. Today we wanted to discuss the ever-dreaded topic, The Cover Change. Cover changes are… strange. If a cover changes in the middle of a series, you may cringe. If the cover was horrendous in the first place–voila! New, beautiful covers ahoy! Let’s take a look at some of the best, and *shudders* some of the worst cover changes.

Now, cover changes aren’t always terrible. Sometimes it’s just to revamp the series, make it more sell-able (is that a word?) and all that jazz. So, of course, there have been some series with AMAZING cover changes:

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (original cover vs. new covers)

  

I think it’s safe to say these new covers are a whole lot better. We’re actually one of the few who didn’t completely hate the older cover, though. (Hey, because the cover changed, we got it for just $5.96! Yes, we remember the price…)

2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Just LOOK–no, DROOL–over the new cover. I mean, THE SYMBOLISM. (You won’t get it till you read it.)

3. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.

Storytime! When I (Sasha) first saw the cover of UGLIES in 7th grade, I thought: EW. COVER WITH FACES. And I ran away. Fast forward to later that year; my class had presentations on a book of choice. One of my classmates chose Uglies. When she explained the premise, I was hooked. Sci-fi future, technology, surgery that turns you pretty when you turn 16?! HECK YEAH. I proceeded to binge-read the entire series from the library in the start of eighth grade with a friend. So, I guess that’s one way to look at how not to judge a book by it’s cover–but let’s be real, we all do. Or at least a lot of us. Covers are important tools in selling a book, in whether we buy it or not. So of course, a few years later, when I wanted to buy the book, they changed the cover. And I’ve got to be real–I don’t think I love these new covers all that much, but I bought Uglies anyway, because it’s my favourite book in the world. Here are the new covers:

Let me know: do you prefer the older covers or the newer ones? I think I’ll always have a soft spot for the old Uglies cover now, but I still kind of loathe the old covers of Pretties and Specials.

And, more recently, there was a big explosion on the internet over a cover change for the last book in The Winner’s Curse series (The Winner’s Kiss). I, personally, LOVE the older covers. The newer ones didn’t connect with me as much in terms of Kestrel’s character. So, originally, the publisher was going to change the cover for The Winner’s kiss.

I’ve got to be honest, the original covers for this series were the main reason as to why I even read it in the first place. HOWEVER, even after all the drama of the cover change, the publisher took notice. And guess what? They’ve decided to keep the original hardcover release (top row) and release all the new covers as a set in paperback. I think that’s a very smart choice, especially for new readers of the series, or fans in general who’d love to grow their collection!

What are your favourite/least favourite cover changes? Let us know in the comments below!

-S&S

6 thoughts on “On the Cover Change

  1. Brian - The Guys Side says:

    I fell in love with the old Uglies covers and I lent them out and they never came back so I ended up with the new ones. I would love to get the old ones back. Winner’s Trilogy I am so glad we get that red dress! ToG much improved.

    • The Writing Duo says:

      Too bad you didn’t get them back! that’s one of our fave series! and these cover changes are seriously great–i’m glad they’re not changing the red dress either! The red colour totally works!

  2. carlisajc says:

    The Uglies cover change makes me so sad. I actually really loved the original covers, even though they have faces on them (which is usually a no-no for me). But I feel like the new covers will make people think that the books are just about plastic surgery when there is SO much more to those stories. Bahhhh.

    • The Writing Duo says:

      Yeah, I definitely miss the old covers–particularly Uglies and Extras. I love those ones. I always thought Specials was a little weird. I remember when I was reading it in eighth grade, I would cover the girl’s face with my hand 😛 And yes, totally agreed. I will say though that the new Extras cover is at least SIMILIAR to the old one, so I guess that’s a good thing. Thanks for commenting!

      Sasha

  3. Erin @ The Hardcover Lover says:

    I haven’t read any of these books, but for the most part, I’m glad with the cover changes. To me, the original Throne of Glass cover wasn’t unique, but I love the look of the new covers. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the first Shatter Me cover. It just looked like a model on the runway that they badly edited.

    As for the Winner trilogy… I’m glad that they changed their minds and went back to the original planned cover for book three. I wasn’t happy with the way they worded it because I didn’t think it was spreading a good message. While I kind of like the new paperback covers (except the one for Crime), I can’t help but think that they do look inspired by the new Throne of Glass covers, but I’m also seeing a bit of Emma Swan in them. lol

    • The Writing Duo says:

      Totally see the Emma Swan thing haha. Yeah after looking at the newer covers, Kiss isn’t so bad–I think it’s Crime I had a major problem with. The way she’s standing just didn’t resonate with the kind of character she is–one who uses her brains and smarts, rather than physical fighting.

Leave a Reply

