[Review] Nothing But Your Memories by H.B. Clementine

Hey, all! Today we’ll be reviewing NOTHING BUT YOUR MEMORIES by H.B. Clementine. If you saw when I (Sasha) read this book (August 2015), you’ll realize … this review is pretty late. BUT, that doesn’t mean the book wasn’t good. Because it was! Here’s the synopsis and cover from Goodreads:

25329731“I knew it. As I lie on a white bed in a white room with white light filtering in through the shade on the window, I know it has finally happened. The Shift is complete.”

The radically new lifestyle of the Alternation of Generation world has more flaws than it may seem. A young woman named Mira Cobbleson has awoken for the first time in her new “body” with a feeling of unease. The Fisk, the city she is assigned to, seems too perfect to be real, but can it be any worse than the overcrowded cities and cramped apartments of life before the Shift? She stumbles upon others who feel it is worse, and they want to escape. Mira joins forces with them, and, together, they work to find a way to freedom–but their plan may be as flawed as the city they are trapped in.


Disclaimer: I received this book for review from BookLogix in exchange for my honest opinion. This has in no way impacted my final review of the book.

The concept for this book was super interesting. The author could’ve fallen into the typical-YA-dystopian ending, but she didn’t, which I applaud her for. Can we also mention this author is a teenager? Yes, a TEEN. Yay for teen authors!

This book kind of reminded me of UGLIES meets DIVERGENT meets … awesomeness. Because seriously, I thought all the characters were flawed and interesting, or just had cool quirks. Though I wouldn’t say this is BETTER than Uglies or Divergent, I applaud the author for writing something so science-fiction/dystopian-like, because she didn’t write your TYPICAL version of these stories. There is no “chosen one” or “different one” or anything like that. The book was relatively short, too, so I read most of it in one morning.

I liked that it was short, but I also wouldn’t have minded even more time with the characters, or perhaps more time to see their motives, or even the world, even though the world was thoroughly explained.

Overall, I rated this book a 4.5/5 stars. I thought it was a fun, enjoyable read, and I think you should check it out, especially if you need to fit in a quick book to finish your 2015 reading challenges!

Until next time,

-S&S

3 thoughts on “[Review] Nothing But Your Memories by H.B. Clementine

Leave a Reply

