[ARC Review] The White Rose by Amy Ewing

Hey, everyone! It’s time for another review–and this time for an ARC I (Sarena) have really been looking forward to. Sasha reviewed THE JEWEL earlier this year (3*) though I personally liked the book more than she did (4*). Now, on to my review!

Here’s the cover and synopsis (SPOILERS if you haven’t read book 1!)

24585267Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude.

But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through th Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude.

But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through the circles of the Lone City, Regimentals track their every move, and the trio barely manages to make it out unscathed and into the safe haven they were promised—a mysterious house in the Farm.

But there’s a rebellion brewing, and Violet has found herself in the middle of it. Alongside a new ally, Violet discovers her Auguries are much more powerful than she ever imagined. But is she strong enough to rise up against the Jewel and everything she has ever known?

The White Rose is a raw, captivating sequel to The Jewel that fans won’t be able to put down until the final shocking moments.


**Disclaimer: We received this book for review from Edelweiss in exchange for our honest opinion. This has in no way impacted our final review of the book.** Thank you, HarperCollins!
When I read The Jewel last year in November, I KNEW I had to pick up book 2 as soon as possible. Book 1 had a major cliffhanger ending!
For book 2, I was really looking for action. I was excited for Violet’s story to continue and now branch outside the royal family, the cutthroat world she’s lived in for the past few months as a surrogate. Don’t get me wrong, I loved reading about that world, but I also loved learning about what lay outside the sparkling city of The Jewel. I loved the descriptions of the Bank, the Marsh, etc. even though it often did feel kind of Hunger-Games-esque.
Again, I felt the same issues with this book as I did with book 1–it is much more “dystopian” than it is fantasy. But I like how this book explored more about that fantasy/magical side of the Auguries, and pushed Violet to her limits. I also like that the relationship between Ash and Violet in this book didn’t feel as forced–or insta-love-y-as book 1. A major issue I saw for lots of bloggers was the almost immediate love relationship between Ash and Violet in book 1. Though in The White Rose, everything felt so much more believable. I especially think the writing was clear and fresh in this book, and I flew through my eARC in 2 or 3 days.
 There was a lot of great character development in this book. I loved reading about Violet and Raven (I love Raven!) and also Garnet. (Will not give away any more details for fear of spoiling!) And the ending was yet another HUGE cliffhanger. I was floored. Amy Ewing is certainly one of the queens of cliffhanger endings!
I totally recommend this book if you’ve already picked up The Jewel. And if you haven’t, what are you waiting for? The covers are gorgeous!
Rating: 4 stars
-S&S
One thought on “[ARC Review] The White Rose by Amy Ewing

Leave a Reply

