Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas [Review]

Hey, all! Today I (Sasha) will be reviewing Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. This is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, and might I say … IT WAS AMAZING. I didn’t expect any less from Maas, whose worlds are lush and rich with assassins, witches, faeries, and more. Before I go into more of my thoughts about QoS (in a spoiler-free fashion), I’ll paste the (beautiful) cover and synopsis below for you all to read (**spoilers in the synopsis if you haven’t read the Throne of Glass series).


18006496The queen has returned.
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series contrinues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Okay, this book was seriously GOOD. There were so many things that happened–this book is almost 700 pages long! It was one of my most highly anticipated releases as soon as I finished Heir of Fire. And let me say, it didn’t disappoint. Let me go through what I loved/liked, and *gasp* didn’t like. Because no, this book was not perfect.

WHAT I LOVED: 

  1. The world building. It was done so well. The world is so intricate, and I like how this book had a bit of an updated map. I will admit this world is a little hard to understand for those who don’t read high fantasy often, and I think the world she built in ACOTAR is much easier to comprehend (more on that in my future ACOTAR review, coming soon!). Either way, I love this world, and its characters. Which brings me to my next point…
  2. The characters. I love Celaena, especially with all her character development not only through this series, but this BOOK. She went through extensive growth, and I loved every second it. To me, she felt like a true assassin in this book. I also really liked her banter with other characters like Rowan and Lysandra (she’s from The Assassin’s Blade, which I have yet to read but probably should have before QoS). However, I will say that the character of Chaol really changed in this book. I think a lot of people didn’t like him in this book, and I agree with that only in the first half of the book. But after that, he really found his own, and I thought he grew as a character exponentially. I like him a lot more now, too. But I don’t think I’ll ever love him as much as thousands of Throne of Glass fans do. Also: shout-out to Manon for being awesome. I LOVED Manon’s growth throughout this book. But I loved her from the moment she was introduced in Heir of Fire, so I think it’s a given that her chapters were amazing. Witches ftw.
  3. The plot. I don’t want to spoil you, but I will say I thought the witches had such a crucial and interesting role in this book. I also liked how they eventually intertwined with what was going on with our main cast of characters. What the main characters were up to was also interesting. It felt like a bit of a mystery, and a lot of things were unraveled and explained in this novel. Plus: HUGE plot twist. Not as big as the one in Crown of Midnight, but still. I can’t believe it. This book had me gasping and laughing and crying and every other emotion ever. Yeah. It was great.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

Now … I have to be vague. I didn’t like one thing that happened in this book, but I can’t tell you because SPOILERS. I think you might be able to guess (if you have read it) what it is, though, because a lot of people agree with me on this one (and vice versa). However, I will say that by the end of the novel, I felt very happy for all the characters, so I suppose I don’t 100% mind that it happened, even though it felt a bit unnecessary. (Vague Sasha is vague.)

Overall, this was a thrilling installment that kept me on my toes the whole way through. The start was amazing, then it dipped for a bit (not that it was bad–it was just taking its time to build) and then the second half was full of pure EPIC-NESS. (That’s a word I just made up.)

I highly suggest you check out this series. It’s one of my favourites!

I rated Queen of Shadows 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

-S&S

7 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas [Review]

Leave a Reply

