[REVIEW] Balance Keepers #2: Pillars of Ponderay by Lindsay Cummings

After receiving the eARC of the Balance Keepers #2, I knew I had to read it straight away! And i’m glad I did. This book really delved further into the Core, and I loved every minute! It was a fun MG book that I couldn’t put down. Warning: the synopsis contains spoilers for book 1!


The second book in Lindsay Cummings’s epic middle grade fantasy adventure trilogy, reminiscent of Journey to the Center of the Earth.

Albert Flynn is psyched to return to the Core, the magical world at the center of the earth where Balance Keepers fix problems in three underground Realms. Last term, Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy saved New York by fixing the Calderon Realm and were crowned First Unit, aka the Coolest Kids in the Core.

Now Albert and his teammates have been called to the Core for an emergency training session…along with their archenemy, Hoyt. There’s a horrible Imbalance in the Ponderay Realm and they have only seven days before California will be swallowed by hurricanes, earthquakes, and tsunamis. Worse yet, it’s rumored there’s a traitor among them who is causing all this chaos.

Will Albert, Leroy, and Birdie discover who’s been putting the Core—and the world above—in danger? Can they save Ponderay before California becomes an underwater wasteland forever?

This second book in Lindsay Cummings’s epic fantasy adventure series is packed with fantastical creatures, perilous journeys, and the magic of choosing to do what’s right.

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson or Lisa McMann’s the Unwanteds series.


Note: I received the eARC from Edelweiss. It has in no way affected or biased my review. (Thank you, HarperCollins!)

I read this book in two days, which is pretty good considering I usually read eBooks much slower than physical ones. In this book, I really liked the whole “traitor” subplot — who caused the Imbalance in the Ponderay realm? For a short book, I was happy we got some answers — and more questions — pretty quickly, and the mysterious aspect to the book was definitely intriguing. I love mystery! And MG books!

The whole traitor aspect was definitely a good way to keep the readers’ interest. I had my suspicions from the beginning, and I liked how the story unraveled to reveal more about the side characters, like Troy, Petra, and Lucinda.

I also love all the details for the Ponderay realm. The creatures, the pillars, it was all awesome! I think my favourite of the Hydra trio is Leroy. He’s just so funny and endearing at the same time 😀

What I also loved was the growth of the characters. Albert is such an endearing main character, and he definitely had room to grow in this novel. Especially because of the rivalry with Hoyt. The whole idea of working together was a great theme that really fits the middle-grade category well. I’m still wondering if there’s more to Hoyt than we know … 🙂

It’s sad i’ll have to wait a year to request the final book in the series, but I’m really excited and wish all the best for Lindsay! If you’re looking for a book that’s great for younger kids and reluctant readers, pick up the first Balance Keepers book!


Rating: 5 stars

-S&S

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Balance Keepers #2: Pillars of Ponderay by Lindsay Cummings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s