Review: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Hey, guys! Today I (Sarena) am writing a review for Let’s Get Lost, a contemporary debut by Adi Alsaid. I was happy to get my hands on the ARC after a friend sent me a copy (plus, I’ve been dying to read this book!). Though I’m not a contemporary fan and don’t usually review contemps, I thought this was worth talking about.

This book is told in five points of view. The first four are Hudson, Bree, Elliot, and Sonia. Each have their own lives and problems, and they each share something in common: a girl named Leila who comes crashing (in Elliot’s case, literally) into their lives. I read this book in a few days and loved how each perspective was succinct but also necessary to each character’s lives. Leila seemed to have her own secrets along the way–but the chapters weren’t very focused on Leila’s past. They were focused on the present, and how she helped each of these characters through their own struggles.

I’m going to break down this review in five parts, just like the book! 🙂

First, there’s Hudson. I’ll admit, I wasn’t a huge fan of Hudson’s section of the story, simply because not a lot happened. When Leila showed up … well, the only way to describe it was insta-love! I’m not a fan of overdone tropes, especially in YA. I felt I could relate to Hudson in terms of school, stress, etc. but I was a little unsure of where the story would go–especially in a short 70 pages before the next perspective.

I was happy for a change in perspective when Bree came in. She clearly had a hard past, having been away from her sister for almost a year, and both parents dead. I loved Bree’s story and carefree attitude, but I again found myself wondering about Leila. Bree’s story was interesting, and I really liked that Leila impacted Bree’s life in a positive way. (Plus, the postcard bits between perspectives were really fun!).

Finally, a little under halfway through the novel, came Elliot. There’s no doubt in my mind that Elliot is my favourite of the bunch. I could feel his heartache as much as he did. And he compared himself to Ferris Bueller–does it really get more awesome than 80s movie references? I found myself flipping the pages faster in this section because I HAD to know how Elliot’s story would turn out. And I was very happy with the result!

Then came Sonia. I think Sonia was my second favourite of the bunch. She, too, had been touched by a great deal of grief, and I was happy to see Sonia totally transform on her journey with Leila. At times I thought the story got a little absurd (trying to pass the border? haha). But overall, I really liked these past 2 perspectives; especially as a result of their growth and character development.

Last came Leila. If you haven’t read the novel, I won’t spoil you on her past or what happens. The end of the story, however, was pretty satisfying, and I loved the writing. It was simple, but the prose was certainly profound throughout the novel. It really glued all the stories together.

If you haven’t picked up this fun (but moving!) story, LET’S GET LOST is a perfect summer read!

Rating: 4*


-S&S

Leave a Reply

