Contemporary Books We Love!

Hello, all! Today we’re going to talk about contemporary books we love–something we don’t talk about often! As you may know, our favourite genres are fantasy and science fiction. But today we wanted to talk about something other than speculative fiction–so how about recommending some awesome contemp books? Let’s get started!

1. LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell. I think EVERYONE knows who Rainbow Rowell is by now–she’s written two YA books (Eleanor and Park and Fangirl) and another adult contemporary novel (Attachments, which we have yet to read). Landline is an awesome book to pick up if you’re in the mood for something with a twinge of magical realism. We both rated this book 4.5/5 stars!

2. FIREGIRL by Tony Abbott. A touching, memorable read. I (Sasha) remember reading this in seventh grade, and boy was it awesome! (And sad.) If you’re looking for a touching middle grade novel, this one is perfect for you!

3. JEREMY FINK AND THE MEANING OF LIFE by Wendy Mass. Another MG novel that will tug your heartstrings! Sarena read this book in middle school and loved it! (There’s also film, if you’re interested!)

4. BURN FOR BURN for Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. An awesome, thrilling, revenge-ridden YA contemp perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars (like me!). I’ve flown through tons of Jenny Han’s books in one day! But this trilogy has to be my favourite. (I still need to read the last book.)

5. ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins. I flew through this book in a day last summer, and I LOVED it. If you’re into French culture, you will appreciate this book as much as I did!

6. PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard. (AKA one of my favourite YA series ever.) If you love to read YA books about people disappearing, or anything thriller-like, this series is perfect for you! Yes, I know this series is 16 books long… but it’s totally worth it.

Aaand, that’s it! I know there are plenty more awesome contemporary books out there–and there’re tons we want to read! What are your favourite contemporary books? Tell us in the comments below!

-S&S

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Contemporary Books We Love!

  1. saraletourneau says:

    I finished The Distance Between Lost And Found by Kathryn Holmes a couple weeks ago. A great survival story, in more ways than one. Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is also one of my all-time favorite YA contemporaries.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s