SHATTER ME TRILOGY REVIEW

Though I (Sasha) read and finished this series over summer, I still haven’t posted a series review (this won’t contain spoilers!). But now that Veronica Roth and Tahereh Mafi have come to Canada, I feel obliged to post a review for these awesome books.

BOOK 1: SHATTER ME (Rating: 4 stars)

I started Shatter Me back in September 2013. I read half, then gave it back to the library. I just couldn’t finish it in the time given, but I can say that I was REALLY enjoying it. Especially the writing.

I finally got the book back in June of this year (from the library) and devoured the last eighty pages as soon as I finished my last exam (dreaded Data Management). And might I say I quite enjoyed it! Though I feel as though the writing was a little weird in some areas toward the end, I still enjoyed the concept and ending of this book. I’d heard they only get better, and they sure did…

BOOK TWO: UNRAVEL ME by Tahereh Mafi

I read this book in about two days (or less) and gave it 5*. I mean, this book was AWESOME. Warner, Warner, Warner. That’s all I can say. Oh, and the awesomeness that is Kenji. Because he was awesome too.

I loved the growth of the characters in this book. And the ending was a major cliffhanger! I also felt like the prose was a lot tighter and cleaner in this book. Great book!

BOOK THREE: IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi

I knew I had to read this book soon after finishing Unravel Me because Ignite Me had been sitting on my shelf for months. I finally picked it up, and let’s just say the first half was… not as good as expected. Not that it was necessarily bad. I felt like the first half was more 4 – 4.5*-star worthy. But the second half? AMAZING. I absolutely loved everything about it–the war aspects, the romance–it was detailed quite well. And the writing style was good, too. I enjoyed the ending quite a bit, though it was just a teensy bit unrealistic, looking at it from a critical lens. Still a very good book nonetheless! The characters experience major development, and I loved that.

If you haven’t read this series, I’d say give it a go! You might enjoy it as much as I did!

I give the series as a whole 4.5*, including the e-novellas.

Until next time,

S&S

Leave a Reply

