Interview with Author David James

Hey everyone! Today we’re posting an interview with David James, who has a new book called BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY coming out this September!

What was your inspiration for writing this new book, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY? 
Honestly, I wanted to write a book that answered a lot of questions I had about being “between” something. Between loves. Between homes. Between people. The majority of people out there, I think, are always in a transitional period where they are waiting for or wanting something to change. This is my answer to that.
Was it difficult to write contemporary after having writing a magical YA novel?
I thought it would be! But it wasn’t as difficult as I thought. At first, I wanted to add dragons and magic and spells every other page, but I got used to the idea that there was no magic in this story. Well, I shouldn’t say that. There is! THERE IS MAGIC! But it’s not the kind you think.
Why pick “YA” as your target genre?
I like the way teens fall in love. They aren’t afraid. They aren’t reserved. And that’s the way it should be, even for adults.
Did you have any actors/actresses/people you know act as inspiration for your characters?
I haven’t figured out this entire cast yet, but I would really love Chris Lowell to play Jackson. I think Chris is the perfect mix of calm and not, and he’s exactly how I pictured Jackson while writing this story.
Do you think, in the future, you might try out some different genres? (i.e. … Do you have any books planned for the future?) 
I do. I have one that’s scheduled for 2015/16 that’s more heavily sci-fi, and a few more contemporary ideas. Recently, I’ve been toying with the idea of writing a Middle Grade book, but if I did I would want it to be something different than anything out there. So that might have to wait. I have way too many ideas. The trick is picking the best!
Thanks, Sarena. Loved doing this interview.

Check out more about this book in our previous cover reveal post!

 

All the best,

S&S

Leave a Reply

