TCWT Blog Chain [May 2014]

Happy Tuesday, everyone! Today we’ll be discussing this month’s “Teens Can Write, Too” prompt, or discussion post, for the month: What kinds of published books would you like to see more of?”

This is the first time we’re taking part in TCWT’s Blog Chain. We’re very excited to tell you all what kinds of books we’d like to see more of! So, let’s get to them!

1. YA books without romance

I think everyone enjoys a little romance here and there. But personally, I’ve never written a full-on romance novel. EVER. There’s not much romance in our YA Fantasy trilogy, and we wish there was a little more YA without the plot always centering around romance. I’d love a good sci-fi with a kick-butt heroine who doesn’t fall in love with a guy who just so happens to be from the evil side. Or with someone they just AREN’T supposed to be with.

Not that any of these books are bad. In fact, we find them enjoyable. But there seems to be a lack of books that centre around friendships, family relationships, etc. We’d like to see more of those!

2. DIVERSE BOOKS!

I think this one’s a no-brainer. Not enough books have MC’s who are Asian, African, etc. Not everyone is a carbon copy of everyone else. Not everyone has long blond hair and pale skin that never tans. We need to see books that have main characters who are diverse in any way, shape, or form.

The books themselves don’t necessarily have to deal with diversity issues–the characters just need to be diverse themselves. When was the last time I read a YA book with a black main character? Maybe once. Bisexual character? A few times. There are definitely a lot of books that handle topics about diversity well, but I’d like to see books that are not centered around the issue itself.

3. MORE EGYPTIAN MYTHOLOGY!

I don’t know why, but recently I (Sasha) have been really feelin’ like reading Egyptian mythology books. Like The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. Something fun, light, and humorous. But I honestly don’t know many other books that centre around Egyptian Mythology, especially in YA. I’d love to see more of that!

4. Fantasy/classic retellings

I know there are quite a few published fantastical retellings out there, but they all seem to be about the same people: Cinderella and Belle. I’d like to see more retellings of people like Mulan, Ariel, and others. Or even of movies like Tarzan or 101 Dalmations. You know, just to jazz it up a bit.

And of course, CLASSIC RETELLINGS! I’m really into those, even though I haven’t read many. I just wish there were more books published in today’s society that focus on not-as-well-known classics.

That’s all for today’s blog chain post! Thanks for hosting this, TCWT! 🙂

-S&S

 

 

5 thoughts on “TCWT Blog Chain [May 2014]

  1. John Hansen says:

    Awesome post! I totally agree with all your points, and I think more Egyptian mythology in YA would be incredibly cool. (I know Kiersten White had a 2013 release that fits that description.) We have tons of Greek mythology, but very little Egytptian or otherwise, and I personally think the latter is way more interesting. 🙂

    (And also – not well known classics! That would be AMAZING!)

  2. Tara Therese says:

    Great list! I totally agree with points one and two. And I love retellings. They are so much fun! I’m currently planning to write a retelling of Rumpelstiltskin.

Leave a Reply

